The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework (EYFS)

A Parents guide to the EYFS

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is how the Government and Early Years Professionals describe the time in your child's life between birth and age 5.
The EYFS Framework exists to support all Professionals working in the EYFS to help children develop. The framework consists of

    • The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep children safe and promote their welfare.
    • The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals engagement with you child's play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge.
    • Assessments that will tell you about your child's progress through the EYFS.

There is also guidance for professionals supporting your child on planning the learning activities and observing and assessing what and how your child is learning and developing.

How will my child be learning the 7 areas of learning and development.

Children will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first.

These are:

    • Communication and Language
    • Physical Development
    • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child's healthy development and future learning.

As children grow the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.

These are:

    • Literacy
    • Mathematics
    • Understanding the world
    • Expressive arts and design

Characteristics of effective learning

Children in the EYFS learn by Playing and Exploring, Being Active and through Creative and Critical thinking.
The ways in which a child engages with other people and their environment underpin learning and development across all areas and support the child to remain an effective and motivated learner.